Rizwe Mufti re-elected for the 8th consecutive time as President of the ACJU – Colombo Times

Mufti M.I.M. Rizwe was unanimously re-elected as the president of the All-Ceylon Jamiyyathul Ulama (ACJU) for the 8th consecutive time at its Central Committee Meeting held at the Katukele Grand Jumu’ah Mosque at 03.30 pm on Saturday June 18.

The Miufti and his team of new office-bearers will hold office for a period of three years.

Speaking to Colombo Times following the election, Rizwe Mufti said he was glad that his re-election bears eloquent testimony to his dedicated services to the community as well as to the nation. “ I call upon all Islamic scholars in the island to join hands with me to strengthen my hands to march forward in the service of Islam as well as toward development of the mother Lanka.

Earlier, at the meeting, the welcome speech was presented by General Secretary Ash Shaikh M. Arkam Nooramith. Ash Shaikh A.L.M. Khaleel, Treasurer of ACJU presented the Financial Report and the incumbent president Rizwe Mufti,made a special address followed by the dissolution of the previous executive committee before the formal elections. .  

As per the constitution of the ACJU, a ‘Selection’ of the Executive Committee Members should be conducted once in three years.

During the above ‘Selection’ process, Ash Shaikh M.L.M. Ilyas was appointed as the ‘Acting President’ on behalf of the Executive Committee. Ash Shaikh I.L.M. Hashim Soori and Ash Shaikh Dr. A. Azwar Azahim, were appointed as Assistants to the Acting President in overlooking the ‘Selection’ process.

The Central Committee which consists of the Presidents, Secretaries & Treasurers of the 24 ACJU District Branches and the Members of the two previous Executive Committees, which is a total of 103 members, were invited to participate in a “secret voting process” and the following 30 Members were selected as the New Executive Committee of ACJU. The respective Office Bearers were also selected via a “secret voting process”.

Honorary President – Ash-Shaikh Mufti M.I.M. Rizwe

Honorary General Secretary – Ash Shaikh M. Arkam Nooramith

Honorary Treasurer – Ash Shaikh Dr. A.A. Ahmed Azwer

Honorary Vice Presidents

Ash-Shaikh H. Omardeen

Ash-Shaikh M.J. Abdul Khalique

Ash-Shaikh A.L.M. Rila

Ash-Shaikh I.L.M. Hashim

Ash-Shaikh A.L.M. Khaleel

Honorary Assistant Secretaries

Ash-Shaikh M.S.M. Thassim

Ash Shaikh A.C.M. Fazil

Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Ash-Shaikh M.K. Abdur Rahman

Honorary Executive Committee Members

Ash-Shaikh M.L.M. llyas

Ash-Shaikh K.M. Abdul Muksith

Ash Shaikh M.M. Hassan Fareed

Ash Shaikh Dr. M.L.M. Mubarak

Ash-Shaikh M.M.M. Murshid

Ash Shaikh M.H.M. Burhan

Ash-Shaikh S.L. Nawfar

Ash-Shaikh A.C. Agar Mohamed

Ash-Shaikh S.A.M. Jawfer

Ash Shaikh A.R. Abdur Rahman     

Ash Shaikh M.S.M. Farood

Ash-Shaikh Abdullah Mahmood

Ash-Shaikh M. Fazil Farook

Ash Shaikh Mufthi M.H.M. Yoosuf

Ash-Shaikh S.H. Adam Bawa

Ash-Shaikh M. Rifah

Ash-Shaikh N.T.M. Lareef

Ash-Shaikh K.A. Zacky Ahmed

Ash-Shaikh A.L. Abdul Gaffar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: