Interim report on Mahara Prison unrest submitted to Justice Minister

The committee appointed to probe the unrest erupted at the Mahara Prison today handed over its interim report to Minister of Justice Ali Sabry.

The Committee Chairman handed over the interim report to the Minister at the Justice Ministry.

Minister of Justice Ali Sabry appointed a five-member committee on November 30 to look into the unrest which erupted at the Mahara Prison, advising the committee to submit a full report on the incident with recommendations.

The committee chaired by Retired High Court Judge Kusala Sarojini Weerawardhena comprises of President’s Counsel U.R. de Silva, Additional Secretary (Administration) to the Ministry of Justice Rohana Hapugaswatta, DIG Ajith Rohana and former Prisons Commissioner Gamini Jayasinghe.

A total of 11 inmates were killed while nearly 71 other inmates were injured during the unrest taken place at the Mahara Prison on November 29.

The committee was mandated to submit its interim report within a week and is entitled to submit the full report within a month.



5 thoughts on “Interim report on Mahara Prison unrest submitted to Justice Minister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: