Sri Lanka to make four changes
for today’s final ODI

Sri Lanka are set to field a
different combination for the
third and final One Day
International (ODI) against
Bangladesh at the National
Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka
Sri Lanka have already
lost the series 0-2 and are
hoping to redeem some lost
prestige before the England
Meanwhile, the National
Selectors have expressed
their disappointment of the
team losing the series and
have questioned as to why
the team management did
not change the combination
after losing the first ODI.
“The selectors picked this
new-look squad to focus on
the 2023 World Cup but they
never decided to change the
team combination after the
first game,” a source close to
the Sri Lanka Team told the
Daily News yesterday.
“The players had to realise
their mistakes and correct
those before the second ODI.
But they repeated the same
mistakes with their batting.”
“These cricketers are pro-
fessional and they have
enough experience with
them to win matches.”
“Players like Kusal Janith,
Kusal Mendis, Danushka
Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de
Silva, Isuru Udana, Dush-
mantha Chameera and Lak-
shan Sandaken have been
playing ODI’s since 2015.”
“I think the biggest mis-
take was their poor shot-
selection and not using their
brain to adjust to the situa-
The source also revealed
that Sri Lanka would most
probably make at least four
changes for today’s final
Niroshan Dickwella will be
added to the middle order
while Ramesh Mendis, Binu-
ra Fernando and Chamika
Karunaratne would also
come into the side.
They are likely to replace
Ashen Bandara, Dasun
Shanaka, Isuru Udana and
Lakshan Sandaken.
All-rounder Shanaka did
not impress in the last two
matches while Bandara was
also not up to the expecta-
tions in both games.
The teams
Sri Lanka (probable):
Kusal Perera (Captain),
Danushka Gunathilaka,
Pathum Nissanka, Kusal
Mendis, Dhananjaya de
Silva, Niroshan Dickwella,
Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu
Hasaranga, Chamika
Karunaratne, Binura Fernan-
do and Dushmantha Cha-
Bangladesh (probable):
Tamim Iqbal (Captain),
Liton Das/Mohammad
Naim, Shakib Al Hasan,
Mushfiqur Rahim, Mossadek
Hossain, Mahmudullah
Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy
Hasan, Taskin Ahmed/
Mohammad Saifuddin,
Shoriful Islam and Mustafi-
zur Rahman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: